Dreams and Shadows

Dreams and Shadows

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5

Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.

Something is missing from Ewan and Colby's lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.

Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

Publisher: New York : HarperVoyager, c2013
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780062190420
0062190423
9780062190437
0062190431
Branch Call Number: SF CARGILL
Characteristics: viii, 433 p. ; 24 cm.
Alternative Title: Dreams & shadows

Opinion

From Library Staff

If you like your faerie stories significantly darker and more grown up, look no further.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Linyarai
Nov 19, 2018

I loved this book, I really liked the pace and the way he broke up the chapters. The characters were great and it was a really unique story.

The author explores the dark and magical underbelly of Austin, Texas. Ewan’s life was forever changed the day the fairies replaced him with a changeling. One day, an eight-year-old Ewan meets Colby Stevens, a boy with magic of his own. When the two left the Limestone Kingdom as young boys, their magical pasts never left them, haunting them in their everyday lives as they grow into adulthood. Recommended for adult fans of Neil Gaiman. (submitted by EM)

sit_walk Aug 15, 2018

This was a great, fast-paced thriller about genies, friendship, and fairies. Surprisingly engaging and moving at points.

n
nekkorei
Oct 24, 2016

after listening to the author read a chapter of the sequel, had to read this book 1st. his story telling voice speaks to your gut. vivid imagery. well told tale, good character development & plot line. finely crafted world. many tropes refreshed. be careful what you wish for. challenges & consequences. one of the better modern fantasies i have read.

o
OliviaJ98
Jun 17, 2013

Holy crap was this a quick read, and mostly because of the pacing of the story. It flows like the river of mythology that is it's backbone. This is a must read for the unseelie fans out there!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top