All You Never Wanted

All You Never Wanted

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:
Wealthy teen Thea Parott's jealousy of her older, prettier, more popular sister Alex prompts a series of self-destructive acts that threaten their seemingly-idyllic lives.
Publisher: New York : Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2012
ISBN: 9780307974662
0307974669
Branch Call Number: Overdrive eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

BPLNextBestTeens Apr 12, 2013

Alex is beautiful, popular and has a great boyfriend, but she is empty. An embarrassing episode at work has left her unable to leave the house, hang with her friends or eat. Her younger sister, Thea also has everything, thanks to their wealthy step-father. Thea’s compulsive lying keeps her at the centre of attention. But Thea wants more, including Alex’s boyfriend. Will the sisters’ previously tight bond survive?

Focusing on the psychological problems of Alex and Thea, Griffin weaves a tale of self-destruction. Told in alternating chapters, this character-driven novel examines the girls’ quest to find what money cannot buy. Fans of Melissa De La Cruz and Lois Lowry will find this novel difficult to put down. Written by PGH

branch_reviews Mar 13, 2013

When your dad abandons you in your tweens and it leaves your mom so poor that you live without electricity for a month, you dream that a rich man will come along and sweep her off her feet and move you all to Camelot, right? Well that’s what happened to Alex and Thea Parrott. Literally. They now live in a gated community in a house called Camelot. It’s so massive and luxurious that it’s the envy (or spite) of all their friends. They now drive flashy BMW’s and can afford anything they could ever dream of thanks to their new step-dad Arthur. In fact, Arthur buys Alex an internship in the fashion world at Haute, but disaster strikes, and gorgeous popular high school senior Alex is no longer the same, having panic attacks that literally leave her stuck somewhere all over town. Sometimes she can’t even manage to leave the house. Then there’s Thea, a junior in high school, a less beautiful and popular version of Alex trying to shed her nerdy image and aiming for the A-list table at lunch. She’s the little sister wannabe that covets everything that belongs to Alex, including the hot boyfriend Joshua. Thea has no problem whatsoever lying and manipulating to steal her sister’s life while Alex struggles through her psychological issues. So while mom is always away traveling and playing the role of trophy wife to her new rich husband, chaos reigns in Camelot, and the two sisters are desperately trying to figure out who they really are and what really matters that money can’t buy. Reviewed by DH

debwalker Dec 07, 2012

Toxic sister relationship well told.

Age

Add Age Suitability

branch_reviews Mar 13, 2013

branch_reviews thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top