Where Tigers Are at Home

Where Tigers Are at Home

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Winner of the Prix Médicis, this multifaceted literary novel follows the Jesuit scholar Athanasius Kircher across 17th century Europe and Eleazard von Wogau, a retired French correspondent, through modern Brazil.

When Eleazard begins editing a strange, unpublished biography of Kircher, the rest of his life seems to begin unraveling--his ex-wife goes on a dangerous geological expedition to Mato Grosso; his daughter abandons school to travel with her young professor and her lesbian lover to an indigenous beach town, where the trio use drugs and form interdependent sexual relationships; and Eleazard himself starts losing his sanity, escalated by loneliness, and his work on the biography. Patterns begin to emerge from these interwoven narratives, which develop toward a mesmerizing climax.

Shortlisted for the Goncourt Prize and the European Book Award, and already translated into 14 languages, Where Tigers Are At Home is large-scale epic, at once literary and entertaining, that belongs in the company of Umberto Eco and Haruki Murakami.
Publisher: New York : Other Press, 2013
ISBN: 9781590515631
1590515633
Branch Call Number: Overdrive eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Mitchell, Michael 1941-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

diesellibrarian Jul 10, 2013

The brief summary does no justice to this remarkable, expansive work. It will appeal to fans of GGM and Jose Saramago for its lyrical quality and sweaty tropical setting. The author uses several distinct but interconnected narratives to paint a haunting picture of post-colonial northeastern Brazil: thugs, favelas and uncharted jungles, drug-addled youth, and a corrupt and power-hungry ruling class. Interspersed though the narrative are passages from a (possibly spurious) biography of 17th-century ecclesiastical figure Athanasius Kircher, a Jesuit priest who, despite a wide-ranging intellect, managed draw the wrong conclusions about almost everything he studied. With a masterful hand and an unflinching gaze, Blas de Robles weaves these incongruous threads into a powerful story that sticks with the reader for days.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top