Sugar Among the Freaks

Sugar Among the Freaks

Selected Stories

eBook - 1996
Rate this:
Introduction by Richard Howorth and foreword by the author. The incomparable Lewis Nordan's first two collections of short fiction--WELCOME TO THE ARROW-CATCHER FAIR and THE ALL-GIRL FOOTBALL TEAM--originally published in 1983 and 1986, have long been out of print in all editions. Collectors' items, these two books are now almost impossible for Nordan fans to find anywhere.To rectify that, Algonquin is delighted to announce a selection of fifteen of the best stories from the two books, newly arranged and introduced by fellow Mississippian, bookseller Richard Howorth, and with a foreword by the author. Critics have called Lewis Nordan's fiction extraordinary and marvelous and stunning and scorching and story-telling genius. The selected stories show that genius in the making. Characters that people the South hobble and dance across the pages of his short stories.--United Press International; Delightfully eccentric situations and colorful language add up to a work that is even stronger than WOLF WHISTLE.--Library Journal.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, NC : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 1996
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781565128439
Branch Call Number: Overdrive eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xxv, 284 pages)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

To Top