Season of the Dragonflies

Season of the Dragonflies

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Sarah Creech's "Season of the dragonflies" beguiles in the tradition of Alice Hoffman, Adriana Trigiani and Sarah Addison Allen, with a story of flowers, sisters, practical magic, old secrets and new love, set in the Blue Ridge Mountains"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062307538
Branch Call Number: CREECH
Characteristics: 324 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jun 14, 2017

Very enjoyable romantic magic realism story.

Michael Colford Nov 14, 2014

An intriguing premise, combining women's fiction and magical realism about the third generation of a matriarchal family who has built a secret empire with their mystical fragrance that has been used to build a series of famous and talented women to the pinnacle's of their career. Willow is ready for retirement, but her daughter Mya, who has been by her side all her life, just isn't emerging as the right daughter to take over the business. The problem is her other daughter Lucia, ran off to New York to get married and pursue a career in acting years ago, wanting nothing to do with the business.

Now Lucia has returned, divorced, a failure as an actor, and still wanting nothing to do with the family business, but when she begins to see bits of the family legacy emerge within herself, Lucia is starting to think differently. The only trouble is her first indication of that power is in a vision of doom for her sister Mya.

Parts of Season of the Dragonflies are compelling and fun to read, but too often, Sarah Creech slips into a true romance-style, where all the men are impossibly perfect, and a good man and a baby are the ultimate in fulfillment. Romance readers may find a lot more to like about this novel, but sadly, not me.

ChristchurchLib Sep 22, 2014

"Generations ago, the Lenore women learned that they could influence the flowers that grew on their Blue Ridge Mountain property. Now, their perfume company, which depends on those flowers, is in trouble. The current owner's younger daughter has returned after a long absence, sharing troubling visions (also part of the Lenore skillset), upsetting the status quo, and threatening her older sister's career hopes. Just as worrisome, a client has threatened to expose their secret ability, and the flowers that sustain the company seem to be dying. Complex family relationships (especially between sisters), a hint of romance, and a little magic in the garden will entice fans of Sarah Addison Allen's Garden Spells." Fiction A to Z September 2014 newsletter


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

To Top