I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
47
8
7
 …
Rate this:
"A story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal told from different points in time, and in separate voices, by artists Jude and her twin brother Noah"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, [2014]
ISBN: 9780803734968
0803734964
Branch Call Number: YA NELSON
Characteristics: 371 pages ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: I will give you the sun

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
AL_TIEGAN Jun 07, 2017

A very beautiful story about grief and how different people handle it, but how everyone has their secrets. The Sweetwine family kept holding on to their secrets after a family tragedy, and those secrets made them all separate islands in their lives, unable to talk to each other. It takes quite a ... Read More »

Her most recent book has received massive acclaim, but a better reason to read it is because you're in the mood for a fantastic story.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
SvenjaB
Jul 03, 2017

Book Review:
This book is a book that everyone can fall in love with. It's full of heart-break, love, sadness, happiness and emotion. My friend recommended this book to me, and once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! It's amazing to see both sides of one story, by two different people. If you are a person with a sibling(s), it's even easier to connect with the story. I myself have two brothers, and "I'll give you the sun" really does show how much siblings care for each other no matter what. I would recommend this book to everyone I know, if I could. Read it! It's worth it!
-Svenja

j
jmli
Jul 03, 2017

DNF @ 100 pages.
I totally understand how many other readers would fall for this book. It's full of emotion, great characterization, and an interesting plot, but there were so many things about it that I just can't stand.
First of all, I hated Jude. From the very beginning, I had a bad feeling about her. She's basic, mean, and always revealing an envious side to her personality. Both twins were rather jealous of the other, but Jude practically radiated waves of envy.
To me, it just seemed that Jude was this extremely petty and overreactive teenager who kissed guys as a hobby.
On the other hand, I loved Noah. He was so dedicated to the artwork he created, and when he was rejected by CSA, I was absolutely devastated. His father expected him to be a "man" and not have to be protected by his sister, but I loved him just the way he was.
Overall, my biggest problem was the distracting metaphorical language. Honestly, I don't want to read about hornets or different-colored barf for half a chapter. Can't we just get on with the plot?
My patience with Jude and the entire story was just dwindling as the chapters dragged on. I think that if I continued, the book may have improved a lot for me, and my thoughts could've been different, but it was just too late. I really was disappointed.

u
Uglybug
Jun 21, 2017

If you start this book and find it a bit tough, the language somewhat exhausting, I recommend sticking with it until at least until the 35% mark (I read it on my kindle). For me, that's about when I got invested in the story and the characters, and the language got less self-consciously "creative" to the point of distraction. I agree with some of the other reviewers that several of the characters never seem quite real, but it's still a good read.

AL_TIEGAN Jun 07, 2017

A very beautiful story about grief and how different people handle it, but how everyone has their secrets. The Sweetwine family kept holding on to their secrets after a family tragedy, and those secrets made them all separate islands in their lives, unable to talk to each other. It takes quite a number of coincidences for the secrets to be revealed to allow the family to begin to heal. I must say every time Noah's section ended, I wasn't ready. Then, I would get into Jude's stories and I wouldn't be ready for them to end, either. I was hesitant about the style, especially with the time differences between the character's sections, but it actually worked beautifully to slowly reveal all the secrets.

h
hawchoo
Apr 21, 2017

Both Jude and Noah will at times endear you and annoy you. A terrible tragedy has separated these inseparable twins and it will take an odd series of remarkable events to bring them back together. Most of the supporting cast, including a ghost or two, are well developed and relatable. I felt that Oscar was overdrawn - all motorcycles, tattoos, checkered past with a James Dean swagger. While the character was a necessary part of the story, I think he could and should have been less of a caricature That being said, the book is told from first person perspective and we “see” this characterization of Oscar from Jude’s perspective. The other author also does a pretty big disservice to another character nicknamed Zephyr. Again, I think this is the result of holding to Jude’s perspective but it would have been nice to see Zephyr redeemed.

I really like the writing style - once I got used to it. Noah, in particular, writes in colors and art. His descriptions of everyday life are as if he were describing everything as artwork. He says he can see people’s souls - his mother’s is a massive sunflower so big there is hardly room for her organs. Most of his inner dialog is this descriptive and every scene in his life includes a note on how he would paint it: (Self-Portrait: Throwing Armfuls of Air into the Air). I would recommend this to anyone who likes art or is an artist and who enjoys young adult fiction. While there are sexual situations, nothing is graphic. For the average teenaged reader, I would recommend grade 9 and up. I would let my advanced 12 year old son read it but he would not like it due to smoochy stuff. (Yay! So happy about that. How long do I have?).

Review written in Sept 2014 and shared on my blog, Purrfectly Bookish.

VaughanPLChristineO Jan 16, 2017

This book came highly recommended to me by someone whose opinion I trust so, I knew I was going to like this book. I wasn’t prepared for how the story would make me need to keep reading more and more. The characters were interesting and I liked the style the author uses jumping back and forth in time. It turns the story into a mystery for the reader. recommended for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and David Levithen.

v
violet_hippo_373
Dec 30, 2016

This book is definitely only for people who are mature. I liked this book but didn't love it. Yes I'll admit it had me crying by the end, but some aspects of the story were just very strange although realistic. As far as writing, the book is beautifully written and will definitely make you feel strongly about things. I usually read kids books just because I like them better, so this was a huge difference for me. I gave it 3.5 stars because of some obscenity and I think that even though I love realistic fiction, this book just wasn't quite what i'my in to. If you're looking for a strong portrayal of love, loss, family, and "finding yourself", I think you'll like it! Edit: I also agree with the user raymartin31 who left a comment, although he may have been a little harsh. Anyway, if these comments intrigue you, please go read the book and see what you think!

n
navsters
Aug 20, 2016

I really had a hard time with this book. I wanted to like this book so much as the reviews raved about the book. It just wasn't all it lived up to be.

k
kisanet18
Aug 04, 2016

I loved I'll Give You the SunI'll Give You the Sun! It was funny and romantic and touching and so beautifully written! I loved it. I literally just finished it and I already want to reread it.

l
LIUYANG2012
Jul 28, 2016

Absolutely compelling coming-of-age story of love, friendship, loss and family. Tells the story from two different points of views that converge at the end. It reduced me to tears when I had finished it.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

j
jmli
Jul 03, 2017

jmli thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

h
hawchoo
Apr 21, 2017

hawchoo thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

e
Emma_Fireblossom
Feb 27, 2017

Emma_Fireblossom thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

l
LIUYANG2012
Jul 28, 2016

LIUYANG2012 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

d
dclansdowne
Dec 30, 2015

dclansdowne thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

p
ppappang
Mar 25, 2015

ppappang thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 9

s
salkats
Feb 11, 2015

salkats thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

b
Bibliocommunard
Nov 12, 2014

Bibliocommunard thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

j
jmli
Jul 03, 2017

Noah: "Mom has a massive sunflower for a soul so big there's hardly any room in her for organs. Jude and me have one soul between us that we have to share: a tree with its leaves on fire. And Dad has a plate of maggots for his."

t
titee
Jul 21, 2016

"I want to grab my brother's hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders. Things don't really turn out like you think."

t
titee
Jul 21, 2016

"Quick, make a wish. Take a (second or third or fourth) chance. Remake the world."—Jandy Nelson, I'll Give You the Sun

r
rebmartin31
Jun 02, 2016

"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."

ellensix Oct 09, 2015

"Quick, make a wish. Take a (second or third or fourth) chance. Remake the world."
—Jandy Nelson, I'll Give You the Sun

w
writingismylife
Jul 21, 2015

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you've been in before - you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall,the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

t
tlisa7
Jul 10, 2015

Take a (sexond or third or fourth) chance.
Remake the world.

Summary

Add a Summary

siammarino Oct 02, 2015

Noah and Jude are twins whose parents split up. This is a great story, told alternately in both of their voices, about growing up, sibling jealousy, coming out, dealing with divorce, and what it's like to be an artist and an outsider. Colorful and emotional language.

LibraryK8 Mar 09, 2015

Jude and Noah are twins who share more than just the same birthday, they share the world. The two are incredibly close and share their secrets, friends, talents and more. A novel told from two perspectives, in two different times in the twins' lives, I'll Give You The Sun shows the rift that came between the twins, then shows the reader the trauma that began their separation.

In middle school, Noah and Jude prepare their applications for art school at the urging of their mother, an art journalist. When their mother praises Noah's art without even looking at Jude's the twins know who is her favorite, driving a wedge between them. The distance only gets farther when Jude kisses a boy that Noah likes at a party. The chasm is cemented when their mother passes away that summer.

In high school, Jude feels like an outsider at art school, unable to make her hands communicate what she wants to say. Her sculptures are all mysteriously broken, falling off shelves, cracking in the kiln. Jude it is convinced it is the vengeful spirit of her mother taking revenge on Jude for a past wrong-doing. Meanwhile, Noah languishes in pubic school. He has stopped drawing, and stopped talking to Jude as he slowly fades away.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top