Awkward

Awkward

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
34
8
After shunning Jaime, the school nerd, on her first day at a new middle school, Penelope Torres tries to blend in with her new friends in the art club, until the art club goes to war with the science club, of which Jaime is a member.
Publisher: New York : Yen Press, 2015
Edition: First Yen Press edition
ISBN: 9780316381321
0316381322
9780316381307
0316381306
9780316267120
0316267120
Branch Call Number: J CHMAKOVA GRAPHIC NOVEL COLL
Characteristics: 210 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Penelope just started at a new school, and EVERYTHING is going wrong. How can she survive? Great middle grade graphic novel.

On her first day in middle school, Peppi is determined to blend in. Unfortunately, she does exactly the opposite when she collides with quiet, geeky Jaime. Two would-be friends become rivals until Peppi finds her way to "I'm sorry." For a terrific middle grade read, be sure to check out... Read More »

Comment
ArapahoeLaura Feb 07, 2018

The Art Club and the Science Club face off in this Middle School Romp!

Comment
ArapahoeCatherine Oct 10, 2016

Really cute and funny! This bright graphic novel perfectly captures the awkwardness that is middle school! Perfect for fans of Smile and Sisters!


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLBrittanyC Jan 18, 2020

This graphic series came with a co-worker's recommendation, and oh my goodness, I loved them. Each book in this series contains the same group of characters, but the protagonist for each book changes, which I thought was a clever way to keep you immersed in their middle school world throughout the series. I think these books would be incredible for upper elementary school students, as they encounter situations that may be awkward, where they may have to be brave, and where they begin developing a crush. I think these books offer a lot for young people to learn, and the illustrations are just so fun, so how could you not give it a try!

j
JA1999
Dec 17, 2019

A pretty awesome book I should say! Funny enough, I discovered about this book a few months ago while randomly looking around a Chapters/Indigo store and thought it looked interesting, but I didn't have the money to buy it so I decided to borrow a copy at the library instead. Despite the book being made for a younger audience, I still enjoyed it as a 20 year old. The story was really relatable, especially back in the days when I was in middle school myself a couple of years ago, a really shy and awkward dude (though I still kinda am to this day :P) I would highly recommend this book to everyone, and I'm considering purchasing my own copy as well as the other books in the Berrybrook Middle School series, Brave, Crush and Dairy.

t
thatdamncatlady
Nov 22, 2019

I love you, Svetlana. The first thing I read by her was her Dramacon manga series. Perfect young girl/teen/adult who still read teen literature or work in book stores so they just read everything to be aware of what's out there. Her books, Awkward and Crush go to another level than Dramacon. Realistic, relatable matched with flawless artwork to go with it. She doesn't go overboard on the story or the artwork. No distractions, allowing the reader to take it in because the dialogue does it all with that extra help of the art.

s
SukhwinderDhillon
Aug 27, 2019

i love this book amazing

SPPL_Noah Aug 07, 2019

I think the Chmakova graphic novels are the best newish middle-grade books we've got. Really good. Check one of these out for a kid.

k
kbirchenall
Jul 29, 2019

Peppi is awkward, like the rest of us and she grows into such a role model for everyone. when she helps and makes new friends we can all relate. I hope that awkward people like Peppi (and myself) learn that being awkward is ok.
I think you should be 5 to read this book

e
ena505
Jul 17, 2019

This book was pretty good! one part I liked in this book was how Penelope kept trying to apologize to Jamie but kept making excuses or ran away and hid whenever she had the chance and it was long after until she finally apologized.

l
Leo_Luo
Jun 04, 2019

It was so funny seeing the art club and the science club roast Foster and Yanic. Amazing book!

w
weerdness
May 23, 2019

Ironically, this book is... awkward. But still, amazing! The story was cute.

v
violet_fox_835
Apr 08, 2019

OMG! I loved this book! It was such an adorable and sweet friendship story that I nearly had to make a dentist appointment. What I especially loved about this novel was that it broke being a middle-schooler into pieces and made its essence into a true yet captivating story. Additionally, it showed that things are made better when they come together not when they're separate-a concept a lot of people now-a-days need to learn. For sure, I recommend this to everyone who's looking for a book to read in general. After all, it's genre should resonate with almost anyone since the story takes places in the middle-school years. Seriously, you've got to read this book :D

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
j
joanita2010
Jan 08, 2020

joanita2010 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

r
red_lion_5184
Aug 20, 2019

red_lion_5184 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 13

w
white_dog_2129
Aug 13, 2019

white_dog_2129 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 13

patriciareneehamilton thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

b
blue_giraffe_2542
Nov 29, 2017

blue_giraffe_2542 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

s
saraprins
Jun 22, 2017

saraprins thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 14

CorteMaderaStaff_Judi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 13

i
indigo_panda_388
Jul 27, 2016

indigo_panda_388 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top