Fireside Gothic

Fireside Gothic

Book - 2016
Rate this:
From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.BROKEN VOICESIt's Christmas before the Great War and two lonely schoolboys have been forced into companionship. Left in the care of an elderly teacher, there is little to do but listen to his eerie tales about the nearby Cathedral. The boys concoct a plan to discover if the stories are true. But the Cathedral is filled with hidden dangers, and curiosity can prove fatal.THE LEPER HOUSEOne stormy night in Suffolk, a man's car breaks down following his sister's funeral. The only source of light comes from a remote cottage by the sea. The mysterious woman who lives there begs him to leave, yet he can't shake the sense that she somehow needs him. He attempts to return the next day but she is nowhere to be seen. And neither is the cottage.THE SCRATCHClare and Gerald live a perfect life in the Forest of Dean with their cat, Cannop. Then Gerald's young nephew comes to stay. Jack is from another world - active service in Afghanistan. The experience has left him outwardly untouched, but for a scratch that won't heal. Jack and Cannop don't like each other. Clare and Jack like each other too much. The scratch begins to fester.
Publisher: London : HarperCollinsPublishers, 2016
ISBN: 9780008171230
Branch Call Number: TAYLOR
Characteristics: 241 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top