Juana & Lucas

Juana & Lucas

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
A spunky young girl from Colombia loves playing with her canine best friend and resists boring school activities, especially learning English, until her family tells her that a special trip is planned to an English-speaking place.
Publisher: Somerville, Massachusetts : Candlewick Press, [2016]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780763672089
0763672084
Branch Call Number: J MEDINA
Characteristics: 88 pages, 1 unnumbered page : color illustrations ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Juana and Lucas

Opinion

From Library Staff

2017 Narrative Winner

The series debut of Juana, a
girl living in Colombia, and her
dog Lucas. Ideal for fans of
Judy Moody and Clarice Bean. -Reading Beyond Handout, 2017

Juana loves brussels sprouts, drawing, and especially the comic book superhero Astroman. She most definitely does not like learning "the English." This is a silly story with cartoonish drawings, perfect for younger readers.

Juana describes her life with her family and dog in Colombia.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
w
wmtlady
Sep 29, 2017

I had such high hopes for this book. The author has a great concept of exposing the reader to another culture and incorporating Spanish words throughout, but her execution needs MUCHO work. The book is written from one girl's perspective and the speech/vocabulary vary from that of a 1st grader to a junior higher. Half of the book is written in minute font inappropriate for a very young reader and yet the illustrations are juvenile and much of the book would be a turn-off to 4th graders and above. The author assumes that context will make the meaning of the Spanish words obvious, but that is not always the case. Great idea but not one I would buy for my class, school, library --or grandkids.

JCLChrisK Sep 21, 2017

A very relatable slice of a young girl's life, sharing stories about her interests, family, and struggles in school, who happens to live in Bogota, Colombia. Nice illustrations, accessible, and sprinkled with Spanish.

Mariangela_S Feb 28, 2017

Love the Spanish words sprinkled throughout the story! Delightful story about Juana's experiences with learning English and who/ what motivate her to succeed.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top