A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20
"She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062497796
0062497790
Branch Call Number: Overdrive eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
ArapahoeAlice Jan 28, 2019

Very disappointing. I kept thinking this would improve, but it didn't. The three main characters are two dimensional. Stephanie's blog posts about being a mom were so dumb, I thought it was a parody of a blog. I like psychological suspense with a slow build, but the pacing of this book drove me c... Read More »

In theaters September 14, 2018. Starring Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively.

Comment
ArapahoeKati Apr 17, 2017

I was drawn in right away, but about halfway through I figured out what was going to happen. There have been a lot (A LOT) of unreliable narrators in fiction recently, so this one didn't feel as fresh as I would have liked.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
neyoscribbles May 30, 2019

Colossal understatement that this book is being compared to Gone Girl. Although there is a plot twist here and there, this book felt quite bland for me. The unreliability of the characters can be attributed to underdeveloped and boring characters whom it is difficult to identify with. No aspect of these characters are even remotely relatable and the ending is to be read like a cliffhanger but quite frankly, it is just so slow and terrible! How did this book get made into a movie?

JCLHeatherC Mar 06, 2019

For fans of Gone Girl.

p
pansey
Feb 23, 2019

At first i really enjoyed it,but after a whilei found it too slow going and boring.Hope the movies better,but i wont bother going to see it.

b
Brandonadam
Feb 18, 2019

A must read after seeing the movie. Honestly not sure which I enjoyed more. I did not find the book was as fast paced or as witty. That may say more about the actors than the author.

ArapahoeAlice Jan 28, 2019

Very disappointing. I kept thinking this would improve, but it didn't. The three main characters are two dimensional. Stephanie's blog posts about being a mom were so dumb, I thought it was a parody of a blog. I like psychological suspense with a slow build, but the pacing of this book drove me crazy. Scenes felt very repetitive, and Stephanie's behavior was obnoxious and stupid.

r
rooby2s
Jan 20, 2019

It kept my attention. I would rate it as an entertaining page-turner.
The reasons that it got such a low rating are as follows:
This book wasn't as good as I wanted it to be. Granted, the blog portions are supposed to be saccharine, and I liked that, but somehow the big denouement never quite arrived.
Also, while using different fonts for different voices is a good idea, I found the font for the blog difficult to read.

IndyPL_CarriG Nov 19, 2018

A fast-paced novel with unreliable narrators and a bit of tension - this book is definitely for fans of Gone Girl if you are looking for something similar. Mommy blogger Stephanie, whose husband and brother died in a tragic car accident, befriends a fellow mom from her son's school, Emily. Emily is a sophisticated professional with a beautiful home, handsome husband, and seemingly perfect life. When Emily disappears, Stephanie is desperate to find out what happened to her. Stephanie and Emily's friendship with strike astute readers oddly almost immediately, and while Bell's characters are not as complex as other writers of the genre she manages to create a familiar and fascinating dynamic between the two women.

g
Goodenergy5
Nov 06, 2018

Terrible and dismal book.

c
cannotbeheard
Nov 05, 2018

I'm rounding up my 4.5 stars to 5. This was a fantastic book. But, because it is also a movie, you will now find me comparing the two. The story was extremely creative. Overall, I think I liked the ending in the movie better but I am glad they were different. I loved the changes the movie made but there were some things that I thought were done better in the book. I liked Stephanie more in the book even though Anna Kendrick did a great job. I was happy they went into more detail of exactly what happened to Stephanie's husband and half brother in the book. If I had to pick between the book and the movie, it would be hard for me to choose. I loved the movie but I think I would have to choose the book. There was a nude painting of Blake Lively in the movie that I didn't care for. It felt like it was in there for the shock factor and they kept dragging it back into the plot. I felt like this was even more true after reading the book and finding out that what was such a key piece in the movie, wasn't even in the book. Definitely worth a read and a watch.

WCCLS_BryceK Nov 01, 2018

This book was completely absurd but I loved it for exactly that reason.

Unreliable narrator? Yes. A ton of characters that you're unsure if the author wants you to like, but you don't see how you could, but you're reading it anyway? Yes. Plot twists that are beyond-belief-ridiculous and in a probably unintended hilarious way? Yes.

I didn't read "Gone Girl" and was looking for a mindless airplane read. I was not disappointed.

If you, like me, enjoy willingly suspending your disbelief within an inch of its life once in awhile and are entertained by media that forces you to do that in order to enjoy it, this book is for you.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top