Upstream

Upstream

Searching for Wild Salmon, From River to Table

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Upstream is an in-depth and timely look at salmon-one of the last wild foods on our table-for readers of Susan Orlean, Mark Kurlansky and John McPhee. As the author travels to meet a variety of colorful people associated with this unique species, from Alaskan anglers to fish farm owners to four-star chefs, he reports on its remarkable place at the intersection of nature, commerce, cuisine, and human history.
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2017]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781101882887
Branch Call Number: 639.275609 COOK
Characteristics: 314 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
ArapahoeLesley Feb 08, 2018

An excellent book about the destruction of the 5 species of Pacific salmon, the endless ways that humans contribute and the meaningful ways that a few are trying to reverse that destruction. I'm way more preachy than this book. This book is fascinating and an ode to these wonderful fish through t... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ArapahoeLesley Feb 08, 2018

An excellent book about the destruction of the 5 species of Pacific salmon, the endless ways that humans contribute and the meaningful ways that a few are trying to reverse that destruction. I'm way more preachy than this book. This book is fascinating and an ode to these wonderful fish through the eyes of an angler. Don't eat farmed fish. Support indigenous fishing rights. Get rid of dams!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top