The Baker's Secret

The Baker's Secret

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
After her kind mentor is arrested because of his Jewish heritage, a young baker's apprentice in Normandy engages in discreet resistance activities, baking contraband loaves of bread for the hungry using surplus ingredients taken from occupying forces.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062369581
006236958X
Branch Call Number: KIERNAN
Characteristics: 309 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
Springsteen13
May 03, 2018

Fans of historical fiction, during World War II will love this. Emmanuelle was so brave and gave her small town villagers so much hope. Definitely a page-turner.

g
grace65
May 02, 2018

Really loved this book - beautifully written of a very difficult time. I could visualize the characters and scenes easily, a rich tapestry of small town France under occupation. It ends with liberation by the Allies - satisfying read. Reminded me of "All the Light we Cannot See".

t
TheresaAJ
Apr 24, 2018

Set in Vergers, a small village in Normandy, on the eve of D-Day, this novel explores the impact of German occupation on a small farming and fishing community. Emmanuelle, "Emma", has been conscripted to bake daily baguettes for the German commander after her mentor, Uncle Ezra, has been killed for being a Jew. As Emma struggles to keep her grandmother and herself alive, she creates a clandestine barter system that helps most villagers. When her secret is discovered during the D-Day landings near her home, the full impact of four years of German occupation comes to a climax. By focusing his story on the people in a small village, the author manages to convey the horrors of war on a daily, human scale.

x
Xaviluna1
Dec 30, 2017

I think the story is a bit “cheesie.” After reading The Baker’s Secret, I read The Boat Runner. Also Historical fiction, but so engaging. I finished it in one day.

g
greenacres
Aug 25, 2017

In a coastal village in Normandy in June of 1944, we meet a baker's apprentice who is forced to bake bread for the German army. Emma stretches the required 12 loaves per day to 14 by adding finely ground straw to the dough to share with the starving townsfolk. She knows that at some point her secret will be discovered. Life is brutal, neighbours belonging to the resistance are caught and shot or simply disappear. Emma believes help will never come. By novel's end, it's June 5th, 1944 and there is an appearance of Allied bombers overhead but Emma still believes there is no hope. A bit slow moving at first, but a very satisfying ending.

e
Eil_1
Jul 22, 2017

Relative to WWII books based on fact, this is an engrossing story that pulls one into the life of Emma - and her mission to protect as many of her fellow villagers as possible. I would recommend this book.

JCLSarahA Jun 09, 2017

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and World War II historical fiction, this is a well written and engaging story of what day to day life was like in a small Nazi occupied French Normandy village just prior to and during the D-Day invasion.

martins_mom Jun 05, 2017

For fans of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" although a bit darker. The central figure, Emmanuelle, the baker, is such a strong, self-aware woman and the other characters are all carefully drawn. I loved this book.

f
fjvalentin
May 20, 2017

Stephen Kiernan has written a fantastic novel depicting a slice of life in occupied France during WWII. He has put together a story of bravery and survival amidst grueling hardship and starvation. Young 22 year old Emma had never intended to be the glue that kept her village together, but through her imagination and hard work the people survived to see D-Day and relief. A thoroughly enjoyable book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top