Nyxia

Nyxia

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Emmett accepts an interstellar space contract but learns en route that to win the promised fortune he and nine other recruits face a brutal competition, putting their very humanity at risk.
Publisher: New York : Crown, [2017]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780399556791
9780399556807
Branch Call Number: YA SF REINTGEN
Characteristics: 376 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - YA Guy Reads
ArapahoeTiegan Nov 21, 2017

Emmett is one of 10 teens to be chosen to go to Eden and mine Nyxia. Throughout the year long journey, they have to train for their job. Be ready for twists and turns that change the story just when you think you know how it will end.

If you like the movie "Avatar" (blue aliens, not airbenders), you'll love this one! Hostile aliens on a distant planet, valuable natural resource, shady company willing to do anything to get it.

Because you liked The Maze Runner, you might like this similar story set in space--Emmett and 7 other teenagers fight through trials and challenges to be selected for a team of miners to dig for the element, Nyxia. Only, the government might have been lying to them the whole time.

Comment
ArapahoeTiegan Nov 10, 2017

Brilliant. The characters are amazing and the story is addictive. You might think you know what's going on, but then Babel changes the rules. Again and again. Right up to the end, leaving me drooling for the next book. We're headed for Eden, but can we trust what Babel says we're going to find? C... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
Audrey_1974
Dec 10, 2018

Recommended by NYPL for fans of Harry Potter and Hunger Games.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Sep 14, 2018

Nyxia is a very creative book. With every unknown secret that is solved, four more spring up making this book impossible to put down. Everything written in this book has a purpose or meaning that forces you to keep reading to find out what it is. It is about a company named Babel that brings a bunch of teenagers up to space to work for them. They then get them to compete against each other for spots on the Babel company. Being hired means becoming billionaires with unlimited access to Babel service and resources (which is a lot). Losing means going back to your own normal, miserable lives, or so Babel says. The winners though, will explore and mine the mysterious substance: nyxia on Eden, a planet that is unknown to humankind except for Babel. Nyxia is a very useful and very dangerous. You can influence it into anything you want. You can also use it to heal and destroy diseases. But to much influence and nyxia can overpower you and destroy you from the inside out. The competitions on board the spaceship are to prepare and rank the teenagers for Eden's environment, nyxia, and species already there. With such high stakes for the spots on Eden the competition is neck and neck between the competitors. Dirty and even deadly play is expected in this extraordinary book. .5 stars.
@Flo_Reada of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

f
Futuregohangurl
Jun 05, 2018

a good book. i cant wait for book 2. it sure had some good parts sad and happy. i am sure book 2 will be good

MelifluousView Mar 06, 2018

I loved this book, and I can't exactly pinpoint why. Emmett felt realistic and genuine. He fought to keep his values when Babel kept pushing the other way. I didn't see the twists coming every time. I want the next book!

ArapahoeTiegan Nov 10, 2017

Brilliant. The characters are amazing and the story is addictive. You might think you know what's going on, but then Babel changes the rules. Again and again. Right up to the end, leaving me drooling for the next book. We're headed for Eden, but can we trust what Babel says we're going to find? Can we even trust why these 15 "lucky" teens have been sent to Eden? So many questions and so many feels.. where is book two?!?

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top