A Baker's Year

A Baker's Year

Twelve Months of Baking and Living the Simple Life at the Smoke Signals Bakery

Book - 2018
Rate this:
Why do so many people make pilgrimages to Tara Jensen's North Carolina Smoke Signals Bakery? Why do 100,000 people follow her Instagram feed @bakerhands? It's because Tara bakes the most exquisite bread in the US, using a wood-fired oven that she tends with her own two hands. It could also be to learn how she makes her bubbly, deep-dish fruit pies or to see the crisp pizzas that are sometimes covered with fresh flowers. It could be something deeper: Tara Jensen has learned to live a simple life, close to the land that feeds her oven. In her first book, she shares her philosophy of simple living and her trove of recipes with others. A Baker's Year takes readers month-by-month through the seasons at Smoke Signals for porridge and waffles in winter, crusty bread in spring, pies and pizza in the summer, and celebration cakes for end-of-the-year holidays. Along the way, Tara writes about how to live in a more peaceful world, shares stories from her own life, mourns romances lost, and celebrates the promise of a new relationship. Tara Jensen's A Baker's Year is destined to be a classic of cookbook shelves in the tradition of The Auberge of the Flowering Hearth and When French Women Cook. Illustrated throughout with Tara's photographs and drawings, A Baker's Year is a true American original. Think of it as The Tassajara Bread Book meets Eat Pray Love.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, [2018]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781250127389
1250127386
Branch Call Number: 641.815 JENSEN
Characteristics: xi, 189 pages : color illustrations ; 25 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

If You Love Cookbooks

Snow melts, flowers bloom and our tummies rumble over thoughts of fresh food growing in the garden. Here are some cookbooks we're excited for! Foodie Memoirs In Feast: True Love in and Out of the Kitchen, a young woman hides her eating disorder while working in a Michelin-starred restaurant in the cutthroat world of Manhattan. Even though we are landlocked in Denver, read about two cousins… (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top