The Lost for Words Bookshop

The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
"The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop. "The Lost for Words Bookshop pushes all my bookish buttons."--Red (Books to Read) "Quirky, clever and unputdownable."--Katie Fforde "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."--Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2018
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9781250124531
1250124530
Branch Call Number: BUTLAND
Characteristics: 352 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Need a Pick-Me-Up? Try Up-Lit

Need a mental boost? Looking for something to raise your spirits? Try up-lit, a popular novel trend that features: everyday, but quirky and offbeat and sometimes curmudgeonly, characters bittersweet emotions (a little bit of sentimentality tempered with a dose of melancholy for realism) building relationships, either platonic or romantic (or both!) life lessons learned love, platonic… (more)


From Library Staff

What a great read! Loveday has experienced her share of trauma and her journey is a gradual emergence from the cocoon she has carefully constructed. By the end of the story, she was someone I would really enjoy getting to know. ArapahoeKristy

Comment
ArapahoeKristy Nov 22, 2019

What a great read! Loveday has experienced her share of trauma, and her journey involves a gradual emergence from the safety of the cocoon she has carefully constructed. We are given hope that she will be able to allow other people back into her life and to truly know her someday. Her quirky rel... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLBetM Sep 24, 2020

If you liked "Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine," you'll likely enjoy this, too. I kept remembering Eleanor while I read this; and similarly, it took me a while to figure out whether I liked the book, but at some point I decided I did and was along for the ride. A strange balance of dark and light that somehow works, I enjoyed Loveday's appreciation of books--especially her first-lines literary tattoos; the bookshop owner is a delightful character; and a few of the poems incorporated into the story are quite good.

l
Lunarchi
Aug 17, 2020

Books that include books and bookshops in their plot are my favorite kind of book. The Lost for Words Bookshop had both and more. For Loveday, the main character, books and a bookshop were her safety and healing. Although Lovedays challenges were great, I found the book to be sweet and engaging. It was definitely a good story and a good read.

b
Blabbermouth
Jul 23, 2020

A great read. Loveday, the main character has a past that she doesn't want to face up to. She spends her days working in a bookshop & her time not working, is spent reading. She doesn't really like people much. A beautiful man comes into her life & gradually she starts looking at the ways she keeps herself safe & ends up closing herself off from things that she might really love to have in her world.
A book not fraught with tragedy, with moments of humour & sarcasm. Left me with a warm feeling.

c
cmr69
Jul 21, 2020

Enjoyed this book, thanks for the great recommendation! Audio narrator was very good too.

ArapahoeKristy Nov 22, 2019

What a great read! Loveday has experienced her share of trauma, and her journey involves a gradual emergence from the safety of the cocoon she has carefully constructed. We are given hope that she will be able to allow other people back into her life and to truly know her someday. Her quirky relationship with her boss, her poetry and new relationship are all things that push her beyond her comfort zone. By the end of the story, Loveday was someone I thought I would really enjoy getting to know.

v
vkreads
Aug 18, 2019

Wow. This is a wow book, written in first person. It's a collection of characters whose actions give depth, humor, constancy, insight and direction, to, for, and on behalf, of the well-being, of our main narrator, Loveday. Mid-twenties, York, England. Contemporary setting.

Loveday's severe emotional trauma as a child inflicted upon her what we'd wisely name as PTSD ,,,,,post traumatic stress disorder...into the core of her emotional, social, and psychological personhood. She is honest about defining the depth of the damage done to her psyche.
Shame, pain, fear, anger, nightmares, shock, ... withdrawal, refusal, being different. But reading books had always been a saving grace for some relief. Reading also means not wanting to talk to people.

The steadying and satisfying life of working in a beloved bookstore gives a "spine" to her story; it is a place in which ideas, words, the silence of written language, life plots, research, and discoveries, about life, do in fact conglomerate into a sweet life of the mind; it matters. It helps with healing.

I don't usually give any stars to books; because I'd rather describe the impact of a narrative upon my reading experience. This is a wonderfully written book containing the often harsh but brutally honest self-dialogue of a mid twenties woman in search of her 'better self.'
It's a page turner.

d
DM_kcls
Apr 12, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed 'The Lost for Words Bookshop'. The story is about a lost girl, determined to remain invisible and lost. Author Stephanie Butland uses a deft and gentle hand to reel us readers into Loveday's story, the intricacies of her life and her determination to remain invisible all the while surrounding us with the love of the written word like a warm, dependable glove.

It all begins with a lost book she happened to find . . .

" It has a couple of corners folded down, neatly, making interested right-angled triangle. I wouldn't do that myself - I'm an honourer of books and, anyway how hard is it to find a bookmark?"

Ha! Not hard at all according to my husband. My bookmarks all seem to always be in our bed with him . . and find themselves stuck to an arm or leg!

This is a sad yet beautifully redeeming story filled with the hardest of bravery from a girl who thinks she desires nothing more than to be invisible.

b
biblio_kat
Mar 12, 2019

A truly delightful, beautiful book with interesting and multi-faceted characters. I was moved to tears several times by Loveday's experiences and wish I could continue to be a part of her world even after I've turned the final page. Folks who love books and love being around books will be touched by the connections made in these pages.

j
justjenn001
Dec 17, 2018

This was a fun little book with a main character I could really relate to. She prefers books to people, and loves digging through boxes of donated books. The story has some fun twists and turns amid smooth writing, giving a book that is easy and fun to read.

BPLpicks Dec 15, 2018

Loveday escapes the pain of her past through stories: she spends her days working in a bookshop and her evenings reading at home. When she finds a lost book, an unexpected connection with its owner forces her to confront her painful childhood and begin to build relationships with people instead of characters. Loveday is sarcastic and pessimistic, but as she reveals her past little by little she slowly grows into a character you can understand and root for.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Arapahoe Libraries

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top